Board Profiles

Charles Rottier (Chair)

Charles is a non-executive Director and business advisor and has over 30 years experience across a range of industries including energy, oil and gas, mining, transport and infrastructure. He has held senior management positions in Australian and US businesses operating throughout Australia, New Zealand and Asia, including Austin Engineering, Transfield Services, MWH Global and CMPS&F.

Charles graduated from the University of Sydney with an honours degree in Civil Engineering, is a Fellow of Engineers Australia and a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is a Past President of APGA and QUPEX.

Charles is also Chairman of LogiCamms Limited, Director of Pinssar Pty Ltd and past Chairman of Energy Pipelines CRC.

Charles brings experience in both industry and in CRC based research, along with a passion for innovation and sustainability in its broadest sense.

Anton Middelberg

Professor Anton Middelberg is the Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice President (Research) of The University of Adelaide.

Professor Middelberg is an internationally-recognised research and thought leader in chemical and biomolecular engineering. His research is fundamental but directed toward significant problems including in the health and advanced biomanufacturing sectors. Professor Middelberg has researched, patented and licensed new technologies in the fields of rapid vaccine scale-up, soft condensed matter and bio-nanotechnology.

Professor Middelberg earned his Bachelor of Engineering with First Class Honours and medals for Chemical Engineering and Engineering in 1989 from The University of Adelaide. He joined the staff as a Lecturer and then Senior Lecturer earning a PhD in 1993. After a period as a Fulbright Fellow at UC Berkeley, he joined the University of Cambridge as a tenured academic (becoming the inaugural Reader in Biological Engineering) and as Fellow and Director of Studies of Selwyn College, Cambridge. He was also appointed as a Fellow of the Cambridge-MIT Institute. In 2003 he returned to Australia as a Federation Fellow of the Australian Research Council, and then as the 2010 Queensland Premier’s Fellow. From 2014-2017 Professor Middelberg was the Pro Vice Chancellor (Research and International) and Acting Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) at The University of Queensland.

Mark Beech

Mark Beech is Executive General Manager Network Operations at AGIG. Mark has operational responsibility for all AGIG gas distribution networks and oversees the full life cycle of distribution network asset management, from commissioning through to the daily operational management. He has also been heavily involved in the development of AGIG’s renewable gas projects.

Mark has more than 30 years of experience in utility operations, and holds a Bachelor of Civil Engineering together with a Graduate Diploma in Engineering Management.

Kate Spargo

Kate is a non-executive director with broad commercial experience both as an advisor, having worked in private practice and government, and as a director of listed and unlisted companies. She is familiar with companies of various sizes and legal structures, and in complex and international business environments.

She has a particular interest in building, construction and infrastructure companies as well as the health sector, and in workplace health, safety and well-being.

Kate is currently Non-Executive Director at Sigma Health Care, Sonic Healthcare Limited, Adairs Limited, CIMIC Ltd and Xenith IP Ltd.

Kate holds a Bachelor of Law with Honours, an Arts degree from the University of Adelaide and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Lucia Cade

Lucia is a non-executive director and strategic adviser. She has extensive experience in the utility, infrastructure and construction industries as an executive and an advisor, specialising in business strategy, organisational change, strategic stakeholder engagement, incentivised procurement models and major projects. Her executive management experience includes senior roles at City West Water, AECOM, Evans & Peck and Comdain Infrastructure.

Lucia is Chairman of South East Water Ltd, a member of the Connections Committee of the board of Goulburn-Murray Water, a past director and Chairman of Western Water and a past director and National President of the Australian Water Association.

Lucia holds Bachelor degrees in civil engineering (honours) and economics from Monash University, a Masters of Engineering Science from Monash University and an MBA from the Melbourne Business School at the University of Melbourne. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of Engineers Australia.

Peter Cox

Peter Cox
Peter is a Chartered Professional Engineer and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. His current role is Vice President – Pipelines & Terminals responsible for the Worley pipelines business globally. He is a Past President and current Director of the Australian Pipelines and Gas Association. He has been in the industry for over 30 years as project director, project sponsor and senior executive responsible for successfully delivering multiple projects in Australia and overseas. The last 27 years has been with Worley.

Peter has been involved in the coal seam gas industry in Queensland as it has grown from a small marginal business to become a major gas play in Australia. He is chair of the Coal Seam Gas Steering Committee responsible for developing the APGA Code of Practice for Upstream Polyethylene Gathering Networks – CSG Industry. He is also the Worley representative on the APGA Research and Standards Committee and sits on the ME 38 Standards Australia committee responsible for the Australian Petroleum Pipeline Standard.

Shaun Coffey

Shaun Coffey is a company director based in Brisbane. He has established his expertise in managing research, development and commercialisation over a variety of countries and sectors.

Shaun is past chair of HTS-110 Ltd (High Temperature Superconductivity) and Navigator Ltd and has held directorships in diverse organisations such as Quest Reliability, TAFE Qld, General Cable Superconductors, Glycosyn Technologies, the MacDairmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology and Perpetuwave Power.  He was Foundation Chief of the CSIRO Division of Livestock Industries and CEO of Industrial Research Ltd.

Shaun is a graduate of the University of Melbourne, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), a Companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is on the International Strategy Group of the ATSE, Director of Capacity Building for The Crawford Fund and Adjunct Professor in the Management School at Victoria University of Wellington.